I believe…

I believe in Santa Claus – he did, after all, leave this letter for the children last year:

shifts in time 026

…and he did make good on his promise 🙂

This year, however, times are tougher all over for everyone, and I’ve been ‘suggesting’ to the children that Santa may not only be late again this year, but he may not be able to come at all. Yeah, that’s been going over real well 😦

Rane refuses to believe that Santa might not visit our home this year, and it nearly broke my heart when she scribbled a letter to him for me to type-up and print and mail to him:

shifts in time 021

The other children have not (yet) written letters to Santa, but they have all told me what they would most like to have…clicking on the links will paint a more complete picture of each child:

Rane would like to have a camera more than anything else

Trinidad would like to have a marching band jacket

Zack would like to have an archery set

Eva would like to have a new pair of ice skates

And, lo and behold, just today I received an e-mail from Santa himself, telling me that he is aware of the children’s wishes and that I may actually dare believe the children will receive them. I was stunned, to say the very least, and overjoyed to have my belief in Santa – the spirit of Christmas – reaffirmed 🙂

Rane: Storm Girl...future storm chaser

Rane: Storm Girl…future storm chaser

Trinidad: award winning flutist

Trinidad: award-winning flutist

Zack the marksman

Zack the marksman

Eva: Blazing Blades

Eva: Blazing Blades

While our family has never had an extravagant Christmas, until 2 years ago we never thought Santa might be late – or not come at all. However, this coming February will mark 2 years since the day the children and I were on our way to the rink to practice for the Sooner State Games when we were hit from behind at a stop sign by someone driving nearly 50 miles per hour.

Miraculously, the only serious injury among us was done  to my left hip (well, my truck was beat up pretty badly, too); most of the accidents of this sort that I have ever read about have ended with fatalities. Every single day, I am ever grateful that none of the children were seriously harmed, and I am grateful, too, that the driver of the other vehicle was not killed.

Before the accident, I worked nights cleaning office buildings and spent my days skating; skating was a way of life for my family, and when the children weren’t at school they were skating with me. After the accident, I continued to work for several more weeks, until my doctor insisted I take time off to heal…and I lost my job. And skating had to fall by the wayside along with just about anything “extra” that could be cut from the family budget.

Click here to check out a photo montage of our skating life

I have not been released by the doctor to work for more than a year and a half now. While my husband does have a full-time job, it’s been increasingly difficult to make ends meet, and the children’s birthdays as well as Christmas increasingly distress me; I have wonderful children who do not make many materialistic demands, but it pains me to think things have come to the point that my suggestion for gifts is to give a boxed note with a wish for what one would like to give the recipient.

Dearest Santa,

I know you are watching, and my heart is leaping with gratitude and joy. I am grateful that you have heard the children’s wishes, and I am joyful that the spirit of Christmas is alive and well.

Love,

Lyann

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The story of how I met Santa can be found at Up on the Rooftop, and I have his permission to share it 🙂

About LyannV

Mom, wife, blogger, photographer Member: Golden Key International Honour Society, Alpha Beta Kappa Honor Society.
This entry was posted in Events, Family, Photography, Service Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I believe…

  1. LyannV says:

    Reblogged this on Views From My World and commented:

    Shared with permission of Santa himself 🙂

  2. Summer says:

    Hallo

    I’ve a christmas card for you! : ) You can pick it up here http://summer4soul.wordpress.com/2012/12/11/1022/
    Have a nice day

    Sweet greetings, Summer

  3. Ralph says:

    Good morning Lyann. Haven’t you gone to bed yet ?

Leave a Reply

